Microsoft 365 Copilot Pricing: Plans, Bundles and Agent Costs

Compare Microsoft 365 Copilot prices, Business bundles, annual commitments and agent charges, with seat-cost comparisons against ChatGPT and Claude.

Published

Microsoft 365 Copilot Pricing: Plans, Bundles and Agent Costs

Microsoft 365 Copilot pricing starts at $0 extra for eligible Copilot Chat users, $18 per user/month for the current annual Business add-on offer, or $30 for the enterprise add-on. For a small company buying or renewing Microsoft 365, the $23.50 Business Standard with Copilot bundle is often the better purchase: it includes the base subscription, while an add-on does not.

Verified against Microsoft's live US pricing pages, October 2026, with prices checked on October 19. Prices below are USD per user before tax unless stated otherwise. Annual totals are calculated from Microsoft's advertised monthly equivalent; agent consumption is additional where applicable. Start with the Microsoft business pricing page and choose the same billing term and Teams configuration before comparing offers.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Pricing at a Glance

The important distinction is whether a price buys only Copilot or Microsoft 365 and Copilot together. Compare the total license package you need, then add any metered agent work.

Plan or bundleAnnual commitment, paid yearlyMonthly price or paymentsWhat the price buys
Copilot Chat$0 extra$0 extraIncluded with eligible Microsoft 365; metered agents separate
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business add-on$18/month offer, $216/year; $21/month list, $252/year$25.20/month, labeled monthly subscriptionPaid Copilot; qualifying base subscription extra
Business Basic + Copilot Business$21/month offer, $252/year; $28/month list, $336/yearMonthly-term price not stated in the public offerBasic's web/mobile apps and Copilot; partner offer
Business Basic (no Teams) + Copilot BusinessPublic US amount not stated; request a quotePublic US amount not statedDocumented partner bundle; no Teams
Business Standard with Copilot$23.50/month, $282/year$28.20/month, monthly subscriptionDesktop apps, email, Teams and paid Copilot
Business Standard with Copilot, no Teams$20.30/month, $243.60/year$24.36/month, monthly subscriptionStandard and paid Copilot without Teams
Business Premium with Copilot$32/month, $384/year$38.40/month, monthly subscriptionStandard capabilities plus advanced security and management
Business Premium with Copilot, no Teams$28.80/month, $345.60/year$34.56/month, monthly subscriptionPremium and paid Copilot without Teams
Microsoft 365 Copilot enterprise add-on$30/month, $360/year$31.50/month with annual commitment, $378/yearPaid Copilot; qualifying base subscription extra
Microsoft 365 E7$99/month, $1,188/yearMonthly-payment price not published on the product pageE5, Copilot, Agent 365 and Entra Suite, with Teams
Microsoft 365 E7, no Teams$90.45/month, $1,085.40/yearMonthly-payment price not published on the product pageE7 without Teams

Sources: Microsoft's Business prices, no-Teams prices, Basic promotion, partner SKU list, enterprise payment options, and E7 prices. Basic's $28 list reference is also the price implied by Microsoft's $21 offer at 25% off. A missing public price is not a free tier or an assumed markup.

Microsoft's live business pricing page showing Copilot add-on and bundle options
Microsoft 365 Copilot business plans

The Business add-on and Basic bundle offers run through December 31, 2026. The add-on's promotion applies to the first year and excludes trial subscriptions. Standard and Premium with Copilot became ongoing products at the displayed annual prices on July 1, 2026; their current prices are not simply the old temporary bundle discounts. Microsoft's bundle announcement confirms that distinction.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Business Pricing: Start With the Bundle

Choose the bundle when you can replace or renew the base subscription; choose the add-on when you need to retain your existing base contract. Otherwise, a cheaper-looking Copilot seat can produce the larger total bill.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Business License: Who Qualifies?

Microsoft's current licensing documentation lists Business Basic, Business Standard, Business Premium, Microsoft 365 Apps for Business and Microsoft Teams Essentials as qualifying subscriptions. Copilot Business supports up to 300 seats per tenant, your organization's Microsoft 365 account. A qualifying license gives you the right to buy the add-on; it does not supply every application that Copilot can work inside.

For example, buying Copilot for a Business Basic user does not turn Basic into a desktop Office subscription. Likewise, a no-Teams base plan needs a Teams license to use the Teams integration. Pick the base applications first, then the AI entitlement.

Basic: The Entry Offer With Teams

Business Basic plus Copilot Business is the sensible entry point for a browser-based company that wants paid work-data assistance. Microsoft's partner offer is annual, covers 1 to 300 users, and includes Basic's web/mobile productivity apps, business email and cloud storage alongside Copilot.

The public retail page currently foregrounds Standard and Premium, so Basic requires extra care when requesting a quote. Microsoft's partner documentation also names Basic without Teams, but does not provide a public US price for that version. Do not apply the with-Teams discount to another SKU yourself.

For a company that needs installed Office apps, Standard's annual bundle costs only $2.50 more per user/month than the Basic promotion, or $30 a year. That is a small upgrade cost when desktop apps are already necessary. It is wasted spend for users who work entirely in the browser.

Standard: The Default for Office-Based Work

Business Standard with Copilot includes desktop, web and mobile apps, custom business email, core identity controls and the paid Copilot experience. The with-Teams version adds Teams collaboration; the no-Teams version suits an organization that already uses another meeting service and does not need Copilot in Teams.

Here is the purchase calculation for 20 users, using annual billing and the current add-on promotion:

  • Standalone Standard at $14 plus the $18 Copilot add-on costs $640/month, or $7,680/year.
  • Standard with Copilot at $23.50 costs $470/month, or $5,640/year.
  • The bundle saves $170/month, or $2,040/year.

Those are calculated totals from Microsoft's standalone Standard price and bundle price. They assume every user needs the same licenses and can move onto the bundle without paying out an overlapping contract.

Cost decomposition showing Standard plus the promotional Copilot add-on at $32 versus the $23.50 bundle, saving $8.50 per user per month
Annual billing, with Teams: the bundle's calculated Copilot increment is $9.50 above standalone Standard. It is not a separately purchasable $9.50 add-on.

The decision turns on incremental cost: the extra money above software you would buy anyway. For a Standard customer, the bundle makes that increment $9.50 per user/month. Comparing the entire $23.50 bundle against another vendor's AI-only seat would count Microsoft's base apps on just one side.

Premium: Pay for the Security Requirement

Business Premium with Copilot adds policy-based access, device management, threat protection and sensitive-data protection. Buy it when the business needs those controls across company devices and accounts, not because the name implies a different Copilot intelligence tier.

At Microsoft's standalone Premium price, Premium plus the promotional add-on totals $40/user/month. The bundle is $32, saving $8. Its incremental Copilot cost above standalone Premium is $10.

A company managing employee laptops and confidential client files has a clear reason to evaluate Premium. A company with an adequate existing security stack should check duplication before upgrading everyone. Both Standard and Premium bundles cost $3.20 less per user/month on annual billing without Teams, but that saving only helps if you do not need the excluded service.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Business vs Microsoft 365 Copilot

The Business discount is primarily a licensing distinction, not an inferior Copilot. Microsoft's Business FAQ says the Business add-on delivers the same capabilities as the broader offering. Its eligibility and seat ceiling decide whether you can use it.

The enterprise add-on serves a broader range of qualifying subscriptions, including Microsoft 365 E3/E5 and Office 365 E1/E3/E5. A business should not assume it needs enterprise Copilot merely because it handles serious work; check the actual base license and the Business eligibility rules.

Existing enterprise Copilot licenses do not automatically convert to cheaper Business licenses. Microsoft's FAQ says existing customers must fulfill their annual commitment before changing plans. Put that decision on the renewal calendar instead of counting the saving immediately.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Enterprise Pricing

Enterprise Copilot is an additional license. At current annual prices, Microsoft 365 E3 plus Copilot totals $69/user/month, while E5 plus Copilot totals $90. These are calculated from Microsoft's enterprise suite prices, not separate bundle offers.

E7 becomes relevant when you also need Microsoft Agent 365, the agent management layer, and Microsoft Entra Suite, the identity and access package. Its $99/user/month rate on annual billing is $9 above E5 plus Copilot. That comparison makes E7 worth examining for an E5 customer with those requirements; it does not make E7 the sensible starting point for a small company that only wants help in Word and Outlook.

Microsoft lists E7 with and without Teams, both paid yearly. It does not publish a monthly-payment quote on the E7 product page, so do not manufacture one from the enterprise add-on's billing surcharge.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat Pricing: Who Can Stay Free?

Stay with included Copilot Chat when your work is mostly web research, drafting from supplied material, and questions about files you deliberately reference or upload. An eligible work account receives enterprise data protection without buying the paid Copilot seat. “Free” here means no additional Copilot Chat license fee; the qualifying Microsoft 365 subscription still costs money.

The enterprise comparison gives Chat standard Outlook assistance, limited Search and Notebooks capabilities, and 10 voice minutes per day, versus 60 for paid Copilot. It also distinguishes metered agents and external-data connectors from included chat. A visible Copilot button therefore does not prove that every action behind it is included.

A small agency owner who asks for an email rewrite and supplies the relevant brief may never need paid Copilot. An account director asking for a client briefing assembled from accessible company emails, meetings and documents has a stronger reason to pay for automatic work-data context.

Decision path from included Copilot Chat to paid Copilot, then choosing an add-on or a replacement bundle
Work context here means automatic grounding across company information. Included Chat can still use material you provide. Compare a bundle when your base contract can change.

Microsoft 365 Copilot License Features

The paid seat connects the assistant to your working environment. Grounding means using relevant data as context for an answer. Work IQ is Microsoft's layer for connecting that context across content, relationships and workflows.

The paid plans include work-grounded chat, model choice, Copilot in supported Microsoft 365 apps, prebuilt agents such as Researcher, Analyst and Facilitator, and adoption analytics. In practical terms, Word helps draft and revise documents, Excel analyzes data, PowerPoint develops presentations, Outlook helps with email, and Teams produces meeting recaps and action items. Application availability still depends on the underlying license and market. Microsoft's feature description sets out those inclusions.

The operational limit is permissions: Copilot follows the access your organization already grants. Before inviting it to assemble client or employee information, review overly broad file access. Buying a seat does not repair an untidy permission model.

Agents and Copilot Studio: What Is Included and What Costs Extra?

Included agent use is a scoped entitlement, not an unlimited credit balance. Microsoft Copilot Studio, Microsoft's tool for building and publishing agents, has capabilities included with paid Copilot and separate consumption options for broader deployments.

Paid users can build and use internal agents through the Copilot Chat or Standard runtime, the environment in which an agent executes. Microsoft's licensing guide limits included employee-facing use to the licensed user's authenticated identity and fair-use conditions. An internal HR assistant serving licensed employees is a different purchase from a public support agent serving website visitors.

The current business and enterprise price cards do not advertise a portable Copilot Studio credit pack with each seat. The separately sold pack must not be presented as a seat benefit. Likewise, the Studio page's Azure signup credit is a separate free-account offer, not an allowance attached to every Microsoft 365 user.

Microsoft Copilot Studio pricing page showing separate agent-building and consumption purchase options
Microsoft Copilot Studio licensing and consumption options

Microsoft explicitly meters advanced experiences such as Copilot Cowork, Autopilot and Work IQ API calls. Access to a feature in a paid plan does not mean its execution is covered by the seat fee. The usage-based billing documentation also covers advanced SharePoint and OneDrive work and explains the controls in Copilot > Cost management.

For separately billed Copilot Studio usage, Microsoft's current options include:

  • Pay as you go: $0.01 per Copilot Credit, billed for consumption.
  • Capacity pack: $200/month, billed annually, for 25,000 credits each month. That is a $2,400 annual commitment; unused monthly credits do not roll over.
  • Pre-purchase plan: a pool bought upfront for a year, with tiered discounts of 5% to 20%. Unused units expire at the end of the term; usage beyond the pool can move to pay as you go.

These are tenant consumption purchases, not prices per employee. The Microsoft licensing guide documents the rates, expiry and overage treatment. One prompt is not necessarily one credit: an agent can consume different amounts for its responses and actions.

Measure cost per completed job, too. If a measured workflow averages 10 credits per completed request, 1,000 requests would cost $100 on pay as you go, or $0.10 each. That is an illustration, not Microsoft's rate for a particular task; retries and extra steps change the credit count.

A Scheduled Billing Change to Check Before Buying

Microsoft's latest Partner Center announcement schedules default-on usage billing for new Copilot Business subscriptions and bundles bought through the Cloud Solution Provider channel from December 1, 2026, in supported markets. The earlier November date was revised.

The announced default limit is 4,000 Copilot Credits per user/month. That is a spending limit, not free included credits. For a purchase around that date, have the partner show both the seat charge and the consumption policy before assigning users.

The Break-Even Against ChatGPT Business or Claude Team

Compare AI-only cost on the same billing term, then ask which product completes the job with less handling. OpenAI's ChatGPT Business Standard seat is $20/user/month annually or $25 monthly, with a two-seat minimum. It provides a shared business workspace and company connections, including Microsoft 365. OpenAI's pricing and Business FAQ confirm the terms.

OpenAI business pricing page showing Standard and Premium seat options
ChatGPT Business pricing

Anthropic's Claude Team Standard seat is also $20/user/month annually or $25 monthly, with a two-seat minimum. It includes Microsoft 365 integration, enterprise search and central administration, with usage limits. Both alternatives therefore start at $480/year for two Standard seats, or $50/month on monthly billing. Claude's pricing and Team documentation provide those inputs.

Claude pricing page showing Team Standard and Premium seats
Claude Team pricing

On annual billing, regular Business Copilot costs $1 more per seat/month than either Standard alternative; its promotion costs $2 less. Enterprise Copilot costs $10 more. Assuming useful staff time is worth $50/hour, the $1 premium needs just 1.2 minutes of additional monthly time savings; the $10 premium needs 12 minutes. Those are arithmetic thresholds, not measured productivity gains.

For an existing Standard customer able to switch bundles, the relevant Copilot increment is $9.50, which is $10.50 below a $20 alternative seat. Keep Microsoft 365 base spending on both sides of that comparison. Then choose on workflow fit: native in-app assistance versus the work you prefer doing in a separate AI workspace. The Copilot vs ChatGPT and Claude vs Copilot comparisons cover that choice in more depth.

Commitment, Trials and the Buying Decision

Start with the few people who have a recurring task worth paying for. At an illustrative $50/hour labor value, the Standard bundle's $9.50 increment needs 11.4 minutes of useful monthly time savings to cover its license cost. The $18 promotional add-on needs 21.6 minutes; the $30 enterprise add-on needs 36 minutes. Add consumption, administration and review time before treating those thresholds as a business case.

Annual billing also buys less flexibility. Standard's $282 annual payment equals 10 months at its $28.20 monthly rate; Premium reaches the same break-even at its listed monthly price. A short pilot can therefore cost less on a genuine monthly term even when the annual per-month number looks better.

Microsoft's business page offers a one-month trial, requires a card, and automatically converts it to a paid subscription unless canceled. The promotion says it is unavailable on trials. Treat the trial checkout and the promotional checkout as separate offers rather than assuming the discount will carry across. Microsoft's trial and offer terms are the authority.

  1. Inventory the base licenses and renewal dates

    Record which users have Basic, Standard, Premium or enterprise licenses, whether Teams is included, and when each commitment ends. A bundle saving only counts when it replaces spending.

  2. Choose a repeatable task for the first paid users

    Use a weekly client briefing, meeting follow-up or document preparation job. Compare the paid workflow with included Chat, and count review and correction time as work.

  3. Request the complete purchase terms

    Ask for the exact SKU, annual or monthly commitment, payment frequency, promotional expiry, renewal price and any overlap with an existing contract. Confirm unposted Basic and E7 prices through the seller.

  4. Set and review consumption policies

    In the Microsoft 365 admin center, review Copilot > Cost management, the permitted users and services, spending limits and whether policies automatically include future services. Review adoption and credit use before expanding seats.

Microsoft 365 Copilot Pricing FAQ

How much does Microsoft Copilot cost?

For this business purchase, eligible Copilot Chat has no extra license fee. The Business add-on is currently $18/user/month paid annually on promotion, versus $21 list; enterprise Copilot is $30 paid annually. Base licenses and metered work can add to that bill.

Is Copilot free for Microsoft 365 users?

Copilot Chat is included with eligible subscriptions. Paid work-grounded Copilot, the broader in-app experience and separately metered agents have different entitlements. Owning Microsoft 365 does not make every Copilot feature free.

What is Microsoft charging me $9.99 for?

That amount alone does not identify a charge; check the subscription name on your receipt, because consumer plans are separate from the business licenses covered here.

Is Copilot cheaper than ChatGPT?

The $18 annual Business promotion is below ChatGPT Business Standard's $20 annual seat price; the $21 regular add-on is above it. Compare Copilot's base subscription separately, and remember that ChatGPT Business requires two paid seats.

Is it worth paying extra for Copilot?

Yes when recurring work benefits from company context and assistance inside Microsoft 365. Stay with included Chat when supplying a few files and drafting occasional text already covers the task. Count corrections and consumption costs in the decision.

Which AI is better than Copilot?

There is no universal winner. Shortlist ChatGPT Business and Claude Team when a separate AI workspace fits the task; choose Copilot when working directly inside Microsoft 365 is the material advantage.

Why is Copilot so bad compared to ChatGPT?

That premise is not a useful buying test. First check whether the comparison uses included Copilot Chat or a paid work-grounded seat, then give both products the same task and assess the finished result.

What is actually the best AI right now?

For this purchase, the best choice is the one that completes your recurring work at an acceptable total cost. A model preference alone does not settle license eligibility, app integration or contract flexibility.

Is there a free alternative to Copilot?

Start with Copilot Chat already included in your eligible Microsoft 365 subscription. If it handles your work, there is no reason to buy a paid seat merely to standardize on AI.

Is there a copilot for students?

Microsoft lists an academic Microsoft 365 Copilot offering at $18/user/month. It is for qualifying education customers, including faculty, staff and students aged 13 or older, not a general discount on a company's Business plan. See Microsoft Education and the education licensing requirements.

Can I cancel my subscription at any time?

Microsoft's business pricing terms provide a seven-day window after paid service begins for a prorated refund. Canceling or stopping renewal does not automatically erase an annual commitment; check your purchase channel and contract. The published business terms and enterprise terms differ.

Will these prices change?

Promotions can expire, and list prices can change. Standard and Premium with Copilot became ongoing bundles in July 2026, while the current Business add-on and Basic bundle discounts run through December 31, 2026. Budget the quoted renewal price rather than assuming the introductory offer repeats.

Get the AI Tools Map for Business Owners through the newsletter to match your next AI purchase to the work your business needs done.

Published
Category
AI
Related Articles
Newsletter

One letter, every Sunday.Working systems, not hot takes.

Weekly. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.