Cutsio Video Indexing Cost

Decode Cutsio's indexed minutes, stored hours, seats, and overages to choose a plan for a growing video library.

Sunday, September 13, 2026Omid Saffari
Cutsio Video Indexing Cost

Cutsio video indexing cost starts at $59 a month, but the cheapest workable plan is decided by three separate quantities: new minutes indexed this month, footage hours retained, and internal users. Pro reaches Studio's $249 base at 1,060 new minutes, or 17 hours 40 minutes, before storage or seats force the move sooner.

Cutsio Video Indexing Cost Starts at $59, but Capacity Chooses the Tier

Cutsio is a searchable video media asset management workspace, or MAM, built to ingest footage, analyze what appears and is said, retain the media, support browser review, and hand selects to an editor. The lowest advertised plan is Pro at $59 per month. That price is enough only when all three capacity meters fit at once.

Cutsio homepage with the current Pro, Studio, and Enterprise plan cards
Cutsio plan cards

The buying rule is simple: price new indexing, retained footage, and internal access separately, then take the highest tier any one of them requires. A low-intake month does not make Pro feasible when the active library already exceeds its storage allowance. A small archive does not make Pro cheapest when a backlog pushes paid indexing past the Studio crossover.

The prices and entitlements below were verified against Cutsio's live pricing page and product pages on 13 September 2026. The published units matter more than the plan names.

Cutsio Pricing at a Glance, Verified September 2026

Studio is the value center of the current lineup. It costs a little less per included indexing hour than either Pro or Enterprise, gives a much larger retained library than Pro, and includes enough internal users for a small production operation.

PlanMonthly priceIndexed each monthActive storage + users
Pro$59300 minutes, or 5 hours30 hours + 2 users
Studio$2491,500 minutes, or 25 hours150 hours + 10 users
Enterprise$9996,000 minutes, or 100 hoursUnlimited hours + 25 users

At full included indexing capacity, the base subscription works out to $11.80 per indexed hour on Pro, $9.96 on Studio, and $9.99 on Enterprise. That normalization does not value storage, users, review, or enterprise workflow features. It only shows that Enterprise is a capacity purchase, not a cheaper AI-processing tier at ordinary volume.

Cutsio displays monthly prices and no public annual discount. Twelve months at the displayed rates therefore computes to $708 for Pro, $2,988 for Studio, and $11,988 for Enterprise. Those are annualized monthly totals, not annual-plan quotes.

Cutsio Indexed Minutes Measure This Month's AI Work

Indexed minutes are the monthly analysis meter. Indexing is the work that makes footage searchable: Cutsio says each upload is transcribed, split into scenes, and analyzed for visual and semantic retrieval. Pro includes 300 minutes, Studio 1,500, and Enterprise 6,000.

The important conversion is from minutes to footage hours. Pro's 300 minutes equal 5 hours of new indexing. Studio's 1,500 equal 25 hours. Enterprise's 6,000 equal 100 hours. The homepage then prices extra visual indexing at $0.25 per minute.

The common budgeting error is to read Pro's 30 storage hours as 30 hours of monthly AI analysis. It is not. Pro combines 5 indexed hours per month with room to retain 30 footage hours. Studio combines 25 indexed hours per month with room to retain 150 footage hours.

That distinction is the reason a backlog month can justify Studio while a later light-intake month fits Pro. The media library may stay within the smaller storage ceiling even as a one-time ingest crosses the larger plan's indexing-price threshold.

Cutsio Storage Hours Are a Separate Retained-Library Limit

Storage hours describe how much active footage the workspace can hold, measured by duration rather than file size. Cutsio's media-management page explicitly separates those storage allowances from visual indexing.

Pro holds 30 active footage hours. Studio holds 150. Enterprise lists unlimited active-storage hours. That makes retained duration a hard plan constraint even when the current month's ingest is small.

Consider a library that has reached 34 retained hours but adds only a short shoot this month. Pro can have enough indexing minutes and still be the wrong tier because its active-storage ceiling is 30 hours. Studio is the first published plan that fits the library without relying on a separate archive product.

The archive-storage add-on is listed at $15 per TB per month, not in footage hours. Those units are not interchangeable. The public page does not define how archived footage behaves in search, how it returns to active storage, or how a terabyte maps to a production's codecs. Treat archive storage as a quoted workflow choice, not a way to stretch the 30-hour or 150-hour active allowance in a spreadsheet.

Cutsio Pro vs Studio: The 17-Hour-40-Minute Crossover

The Pro-to-Studio choice turns on an exact indexing threshold when storage and user requirements fit both plans. Pro starts $190 below Studio. At $0.25 for each indexed minute above Pro's included 300, closing that gap takes 760 extra minutes. The plans meet at 1,060 new minutes, or 17 hours 40 minutes.

At that point, Pro computes to $249 and Studio costs $249. Below it, Pro is cheaper on indexing alone. Above it, Studio is cheaper because both plans use the same published extra-minute rate after their included allowance, while Studio begins with 1,500 minutes.

Storage can force Studio earlier. A retained library above 30 hours no longer fits Pro's published capacity. Internal access can also flip the bill: Pro includes 2 users and Studio includes 10. At the listed $25 extra-user rate, a 10-user Pro configuration computes to $259, while Studio remains $249.

The practical decision rule is therefore stricter than a single break-even point:

  • Choose Pro when the active library fits within 30 hours, the access requirement fits its included users or priced additions, and new monthly indexing stays below the cost crossover.
  • Choose Studio when new indexing reaches 17 hours 40 minutes, active storage passes 30 hours, or the user calculation reaches its lower total first.
  • Evaluate Enterprise when the active library passes Studio's ceiling or sustained new indexing approaches the next crossover.
Clay harbor decision path showing Cutsio storage and monthly indexing thresholds for Pro, Studio, and Enterprise
Storage can force a plan upgrade before monthly indexing cost does.

Cutsio Overage Pricing Changes the Sticker Price

Overages are published as a set of production add-ons, not one generic usage charge. Extra visual indexing costs $0.25 per minute, and extra internal users cost $25 per user per month. Those are the recurring lines most likely to alter an ordinary team bill.

The more specialized add-ons are listed on the same live page: ARRI or RED raw-file ingest at $15 per hour, archive storage at $15 per TB per month, DRM Asset Protection at $499 per month, and high-bitrate processing at $299 per month.

The right estimate is base plan plus excess new indexing plus added internal users plus any production-specific services. Do not merge active footage hours with archive terabytes or raw-ingest hours. Each measures a different operation.

The add-on block sits beneath a “Get a quote” action. The listed rates are strong planning inputs, but the page does not publish billing granularity or automatic-overage behavior. Put the exact expected intake, storage state, users, codecs, and protection needs into the written order rather than treating a calculator as the contract.

Backlog, Steady, and Busy Month Capacity Forecast

Cutsio Video Indexing Cost Calculator

A useful calculator needs three inputs for every month: new runtime sent for indexing, total active footage retained after that month, and internal users. This evolving example begins with an 18-hour archive and ends with a busier production month.

  1. Backlog month: 18 hours new, 18 retained, 2 users

    The backlog is 1,080 indexed minutes. Pro includes 300, leaving 780 at $0.25, so Pro computes to $254. Studio includes the full backlog and costs $249. Both fit the retained footage and user count, making Studio the cheaper capacity snapshot by $5.

  2. Steady month: 4 hours new, 22 retained, 2 users

    The recurring intake is 240 minutes, below Pro's 300-minute allowance, and the retained library remains below 30 hours. Pro is the lowest feasible tier at $59, compared with Studio at $249.

  3. Busy month: 12 hours new, 34 retained, 4 users

    Pro's arithmetic is $214: the $59 base, 420 excess indexing minutes at $0.25, and 2 added users at $25. It is still infeasible because 34 retained hours exceed Pro's 30-hour storage limit. Studio fits the 720 new minutes, 34 retained hours, and 4 users at its $249 base.

The result is intentionally counterintuitive. Studio is the cheaper first-month backlog buy, Pro is the lowest light-month capacity, and Studio becomes necessary again when retained footage passes the smaller storage ceiling. These are independent budget snapshots, not a claim about when Cutsio permits plan changes.

Clay calendar dock showing backlog, steady, and busy Cutsio months with intake, retained footage, and plan cost
An evolving library can cross tiers because new indexing and retained footage move differently.

This three-meter budget is more useful than multiplying today's invoice by twelve. A production with seasonal shoots should price its quiet month, representative month, and largest plausible intake separately. The highest plan may be needed only because one meter spikes, but finance still needs that peak before committing workflow and media.

When Enterprise Becomes the Lower-Cost Capacity Buy

Enterprise reaches cost parity with Studio at 4,500 new indexed minutes, or 75 hours, before other add-ons. Studio includes 1,500 minutes. Adding 3,000 minutes at $0.25 brings Studio from $249 to $999, equal to Enterprise's base.

At 75 new hours, Enterprise is the stronger capacity package at the same computed software price because it includes 100 indexed hours, unlimited active storage, and 25 users. Below that threshold, Studio usually wins on indexing price unless storage or a required Enterprise workflow decides first.

Users alone do not justify Enterprise at the published rates. A 25-user Studio calculation is $624: the $249 base plus 15 added users at $25. Enterprise is $999. That $375 gap has to be earned by unlimited active storage, higher included indexing, or an Enterprise capability such as linked ProRes review media with supported camera originals.

The clean Enterprise trigger is therefore operational, not prestigious. Choose it when Studio's 150 active-storage hours no longer hold the working library, new indexing reaches the 75-hour price crossover, or the production genuinely needs the larger workflow boundary.

The 40-Hour Check Against Reelback and FrameQuery

At 40 new footage hours, Cutsio Studio computes to $474: its $249 base covers 25 hours, and the remaining 900 minutes cost $225 at the published $0.25 rate. The site's broader AI video search tools comparison uses this same scenario for product selection rather than tier selection.

Reelback's live page lists Pro at $599 for 25 hours and $20 for each excess hour. The same 40-hour month computes to $899, which is $425 above Cutsio. That is not evidence that Cutsio retrieves a better moment. Reelback is a more focused footage-logging and retrieval layer, while Cutsio bundles active storage, review, and pre-edit workflow. The Reelback video search review covers that scope boundary in depth.

FrameQuery's current pricing page lists Pro at $45 per month for 50 indexed hours and 100 GB of cloud proxy storage. A 40-hour month fits that indexing allowance. FrameQuery says its search index stays on the user's machine and carries no ongoing storage fee, so it is the much cheaper indexing-first option when a local library is the desired architecture. It is not a price-equivalent substitute for Cutsio's 150 active footage hours and browser-centered media workspace.

The shortlist rule is sharp: choose Cutsio when searchable hosted media, review, and edit handoff belong in one workspace; choose Reelback when dedicated logging behavior is worth the higher 40-hour bill; choose FrameQuery when local search and low indexing cost matter more than a hosted MAM.

The Plan Entitlement That Needs Written Confirmation

ProRes support is the one public entitlement conflict that can change a production purchase. Cutsio's homepage pricing-card list displays “Upload ProRes files” under Pro. Its homepage FAQ and dedicated media-management page say ProRes upload is included on Studio and Enterprise.

The same craft bar applies to the whole purchase. A plan is ship-ready only when representative media uploads, becomes searchable, and reaches Final Cut Pro or DaVinci Resolve through the documented FCPXML or EDL handoff. A price sheet without that end-to-end check is budget-ready, not production-ready.

Free Access, Annual Billing, and Purchase Terms

Cutsio does not publish a permanent free plan. The site advertises a trial but does not state its duration or a lasting free allowance. Anyone who needs ongoing access should budget for a paid tier rather than planning around the trial.

The public plan cards show monthly prices only. No annual price or annual discount is displayed, which is why the yearly totals above simply multiply the current monthly rates. Do not treat those calculations as a separate annual offer.

Cutsio's public Terms of Service, effective 3 October 2025, do not state a refund policy, a customer cancellation window, a billing cadence, or a student discount. The absence is the actionable fact: obtain the trial length, renewal date, cancellation mechanics, refund treatment, and quoted add-on terms in writing before payment.

The Monday Move: Meter One Representative Month

On Monday, build one footage ledger with three columns: runtime entering the searchable index, active runtime remaining in the library, and people who need internal access. Separate external reviewers from internal users rather than counting every share-link recipient as a seat.

Price the representative month and the largest backlog month independently. Then take the candidate plan into the advertised trial with the codecs, search tasks, review path, and editor handoff the production must use. If ProRes matters, get its plan entitlement written into the answer before upload.

The purchase is ready when the capacity math and the creative handoff both pass. A cheaper tier that rejects the working library or its media format is not cheaper.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cutsio free?

Cutsio does not publish a permanent free plan. Its site advertises a trial, but the public pricing page does not state the trial length, so ongoing use should be budgeted from the $59 Pro tier upward.

Does Cutsio offer a student discount?

No student discount is published on Cutsio's live pricing page or public terms as of 13 September 2026. Ask for written eligibility and renewal terms before treating any unlisted offer as part of the budget.

What is Cutsio's refund policy?

Cutsio's public terms do not state a refund policy. Confirm refund treatment, cancellation timing, and the renewal date in writing before payment.

What is the best video analytics software?

Cutsio is a searchable MAM and pre-edit workspace, not a general video-performance analytics package. Choose it for finding, reviewing, retaining, and handing off owned footage; use the broader comparison above when the job is still undecided.

How much does video up cost?

That phrase does not identify a Cutsio tier. Cutsio's public subscriptions start at $59 per month and scale by indexed minutes, active storage hours, and internal users.

How much is a 1 minute video?

The production cost of a finished video is separate from indexing it. Cutsio lists extra visual indexing at $0.25 per source minute after the included plan allowance.

How much should video editing cost?

Cutsio is software for searchable footage, review, and pre-edit handoff, not an editor-for-hire rate card. Its subscription begins at $59 per month, while human editing should be budgeted separately.

What does the 80/20 rule mean in video editing?

The 80/20 rule is not part of Cutsio's published pricing model. The plan decision uses new indexed minutes, active storage hours, and internal users.

How much to charge for a 30 second video edit?

That client-service price does not determine a Cutsio plan. The relevant input is the total source-footage runtime indexed and retained, not the duration of the finished edit.

What is the 3:2:1 rule in video editing?

The 3:2:1 backup rule is separate from Cutsio's active-storage allowance. A hosted working library does not remove the need for an independent production backup policy.

How much should a 3 minute video cost?

Finished-video pricing is separate from Cutsio's software bill. Budget Cutsio from the source minutes entering its index, the active footage kept, and the internal users who need access.

How many views do you need on a YouTube video to make $100?

YouTube revenue per view is unrelated to Cutsio's footage-capacity pricing. Cutsio is purchased around the media operation before distribution, not audience monetization after publishing.

Audit the footage capacity, handoff, and hidden usage lines before you spend. Get the AI Business Workflow Audit Checklist with the newsletter.

Last Updated
Sep 13, 2026
Category
Design

Prefer this site in Google

Add omidsaffari.com as a preferred source in Google Search

Mark omidsaffari.com as preferred and Google lifts it in Top Stories, AI Overviews and AI Mode for you.

Related Articles
Best AI Tools for Cross Stitch Pet Portraits

Best AI Tools for Cross Stitch Pet Portraits

Compare AI and photo-conversion tools for cross-stitch pet portraits, with checks for likeness, thread codes, cleanup, and printable charts.Sep 13, 2026Design
DreamYard AI Review

DreamYard AI Review

A DreamYard review of photo fidelity, revisions, downloads, free limits, current pricing, and the permission required for client work.Sep 13, 2026Design
Textile-Designer.ai Review for Screen Printing

Textile-Designer.ai Review for Screen Printing

Test Textile Designer AI's route from artwork to editable print files, including color separation, export limits, credits and manual cleanup.Sep 12, 2026Design
Best AI Tools for Screen Printing Color Separations

Best AI Tools for Screen Printing Color Separations

Compare tools for editable color plates, underbases and print handoff, with clear limits on what AI and ordinary separation automation do.Sep 12, 2026Design
Pattrn-AI Review for Stained Glass Patterns

Pattrn-AI Review for Stained Glass Patterns

Check whether Pattrn-AI turns photos and sketches into editable, printable stained glass patterns, and where manual pattern work remains.Sep 12, 2026Design
Glimeo Pricing (2026): Redos, Extras, and Expiry

Glimeo Pricing (2026): Redos, Extras, and Expiry

Decode Glimeo plans, $10 extra videos, paid redos, expiry rules, and annual billing so your demo-video budget matches the work you approve.Sep 12, 2026Design
Best AI Tools for Landscape Design Proposals

Best AI Tools for Landscape Design Proposals

Compare AI landscape design tools for client proposals by photo fidelity, revisions, exports, commercial use, and cost per project.Sep 11, 2026Design
ngram vs Guidde for Product Demo Videos

ngram vs Guidde for Product Demo Videos

Compare ngram and Guidde for product demos: source material, capture, editing, branding, exports, and the work needed for each update.Sep 10, 2026Design
Newsletter

One letter, every Sunday.Working systems, not hot takes.

Weekly. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.