Best Social Media Scheduler for Small Business in 2026: Buffer, Later, Postiz, SocialBee, Vista Social and Hootsuite (Compared)
Compare Buffer, Later, Postiz, SocialBee, Vista Social and Hootsuite by five-account cost, networks, approvals and API access in 2026.

Buffer is the best social media scheduler for small business when one person needs five flexible accounts: Essentials costs $25 a month billed yearly or $30 month to month. Later is cheaper for an Instagram-first mix that excludes X and Bluesky; SocialBee suits reusable content, Vista Social suits client approvals, and Postiz suits API-driven or self-hosted posting. Hootsuite earns its higher bill when listening and social customer care are daily work.
The choice changes when a second person must approve posts, a sixth account joins the calendar, or your own app needs to send content into the scheduler. Price those changes before committing to a year.
Pricing and network coverage verified on 2 October 2026. This comparison uses current vendor specifications and calculated costs.
Partner disclosure: Later, Postiz, SocialBee and Vista Social are partners of this site. Referral links may support the site. Recommendations follow the account mix, operating cost and workflow each product fits.
Best Social Media Scheduler for Small Business: Price and Network Table
Compare the bill for your connected accounts, rather than the price attached to the smallest plan. A social account is one Instagram profile, LinkedIn page, X profile or other destination. Two Instagram profiles are two accounts even when one person owns both.
The baseline below is one user and five accounts: Instagram, LinkedIn, TikTok, Threads and Facebook, one on each network. It excludes X so Vista Social's separate X charge stays visible. Annual figures are monthly equivalents, paid upfront for the year; month-to-month prices appear where the live page explicitly quotes them.
“All six” means Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, Threads and Bluesky. It describes network availability, not identical post formats or analytics on every network. Approvals and analytics columns show where the relevant feature starts, which can be above the baseline plan.
For five active accounts, the annual-equivalent subscription cost per account is $3.75 for Later, $4.60 for Postiz Cloud, $4.83 for SocialBee, $5 for Buffer, $15.83 for Vista Social and $19.80 for Hootsuite. These are our calculations from the linked plan prices, not interchangeable offers. Later cannot satisfy a mandatory X or Bluesky requirement, and Vista Social's price buys capacity for more than five profiles.
Vista Social's cards round its annual monthly prices to $80, $160 and $360. Dividing the published invoices by the months in the year gives $79.17, $159.17 and $359.17. SocialBee's $290 annual Bootstrap invoice similarly becomes $24.17. Using the invoice avoids comparing a rounded card with another vendor's exact rate.
Six Schedulers, Six Buying Situations
Start with Buffer for a general publishing calendar, then move to the specialist whose advantage matches a recurring job. The order below follows that buying process, rather than claiming one product wins every team shape.
1. Buffer: best default for a solo creator or founder
Buffer is a social publishing calendar with AI writing, performance Insights and a community inbox, and it is the strongest default when a founder wants a documented route from solo scheduling to team approvals. It covers all six requested networks, offers a lasting free plan, and makes the paid account count easy to calculate. The first meaningful wall is collaboration: Essentials has one user, while approval workflows require Team. Its second wall is measurement, because “advanced analytics” does not apply equally to every network.

Best for: A solo creator or founder who wants one calendar across a mixed network portfolio.
Standout: A real free plan, included AI Assistant and an explicit approval upgrade.
Pricing: Free $0; Essentials $6/channel/month monthly or $5 annually; Team $12/channel/month monthly or $10 annually, for the first 10 channels.
Free trial: 14 days on paid plans; Free remains available afterward within its limits.
For a founder publishing to Instagram, LinkedIn, TikTok, Threads and Facebook, Essentials costs $30 a month or $300 a year. Adding a sixth account costs another $6 monthly or $5 at the annual rate. There is no need to buy an unused bundle of additional profiles.
Do not subtract three free accounts from that calculation. On a paid plan, all connected channels are paid, including the ones that previously occupied the Free plan. Five Essentials channels cost $25 a month on annual billing, rather than a bill for only the two channels beyond Free. Buffer's machine-readable pricing explicitly gives the five-channel totals.
The AI Assistant is included across Free, Essentials and Team for creating, refining and repurposing content. That makes it useful for adapting a founder's longer LinkedIn explanation into a shorter Threads post without selecting a more expensive AI tier. It still needs your facts, voice and editorial judgment. Caption availability says nothing about whether a post is persuasive or accurate.
Analytics need a closer look. The live pricing matrix lists advanced analytics for Instagram business and creator accounts, LinkedIn pages, Facebook pages and X. Threads, Bluesky and TikTok have basic coverage in that matrix rather than the same advanced depth. A founder's LinkedIn personal profile also differs from a LinkedIn company page. If a client needs a specific metric, put that metric and account type on the acceptance checklist before buying.
Free allows three connected channels and ten scheduled posts per channel at one time. A slot becomes available again after publication, so this is a queue cap, not a ten-post monthly allowance. Free Insights carries 30 days of history. Paid scheduling is marketed as unlimited, subject to a 5,000-post-per-channel fair-use cap. Those distinctions are stated on the live pricing page.
Buffer also deserves consideration for a founder posting from a CMS, the content system that stores their articles. Its current API is available even on Free. The API section below explains the permissions and reporting limit that matter more than the mere presence of an API badge.
- All six requested networks appear on the current pricing page.
- AI Assistant is included without a separate caption-credit upgrade.
- Free has a refillable queue, rather than a small lifetime post allowance.
- Team includes unlimited collaborators and content approval workflows.
- Essentials allows only one user; a reviewer changes the required plan.
- Advanced analytics varies by network and profile type.
- Full production-ready analytics reporting is not available through the current API.
Set up the Buffer evaluation around your actual workflow
Use the trial to verify the destination and review path before moving an entire calendar. These are evaluation steps, not a claim that this run published test posts.
Connect the exact account types
Write down each required profile, then connect those accounts. Distinguish a LinkedIn personal profile from a company page and an Instagram personal profile from a business or creator account. The pricing matrix gives different publishing and measurement capabilities for those account types.
Choose Essentials or Team by the reviewer
Use Essentials when the owner writes and publishes. Use Team when another person needs access or posts must wait for approval. Configure contributors who should not publish directly as Requires Approval; the documented API respects that permission too.
Prepare a representative post for every destination
Check the media, caption, link and intended time on each account. Include the format you sell to clients, rather than evaluating only a text post and assuming a Reel, carousel or reminder behaves the same way.
Verify the report you need to deliver
Open the available Insights for the actual network and profile type. On a paid plan, confirm the export contains the fields your monthly report needs. A missing metric is a buying issue even when scheduling works.
Price the next account before paying annually
Calculate the next channel and the next reviewer. If your plan is still changing, use monthly billing until those requirements settle. Annual savings are useful after the configuration has proved its fit.
2. Later: best for an Instagram-first creator with an eligible network mix
Later is a visual social scheduler with an Instagram-oriented planning and content toolkit, and it is the best fit here when the creator's account map fits a social set. Starter is cheaper than the five-account Buffer configuration on annual billing. The limit is structural: a set provides one account on each supported network, so its eight-profile capacity cannot be spent on any eight accounts you choose. X and Bluesky are absent from the current supported-network list.

Best for: An Instagram-first creator or visual brand publishing one profile per eligible network.
Standout: Visual planning, Reels audio, Instagram publishing features and a relatively low eligible-set price.
Pricing: Starter $18.75/month, Growth $37.50/month, Scale $82.50/month, all billed yearly.
Free trial: 14 days; no recurring free plan shown on the current pricing page.
The live Later pricing page lists three tiers:
- Starter: One social set, eight profiles and one user. It permits 30 scheduled posts per profile per month, includes five AI credits monthly and provides up to three months of the listed platform analytics.
- Growth: Two social sets, 16 profiles and two users. It raises scheduling to 180 posts per profile per month, includes 50 AI credits, adds internal and external approvals, and extends listed platform history up to one year.
- Scale: Six social sets, 48 profiles and four users. It includes unlimited posts, 100 AI credits, up to two years of listed platform history, custom analytics, Meta Ads analytics and competitive benchmarking.
The page offers monthly billing too. The rates above are the explicitly displayed annual rates used in this comparison; they should not be mistaken for a monthly cancel-anytime invoice.
The complete social-set network list is Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Threads, YouTube, Pinterest, LinkedIn and Snapchat. Older descriptions that include X do not describe the current set. A creator who insists on Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, Threads and Bluesky therefore cannot use Later as the one scheduler for that requirement.
For an Instagram-first shop with one Instagram account plus TikTok, Threads, Facebook and LinkedIn, Starter costs $225 a year, equivalent to $3.75 per active account per month. That is a useful fit, even though some capacity goes unused. The same headline price fails for an agency with two Instagram clients: one Starter set allows only one of those Instagram profiles. Growth is the first listed tier with two sets.
The creative features explain when that tradeoff is worthwhile. Visual planning helps organize a media-led calendar, and the pricing page lists Instagram first-comment scheduling, personalized posting times and Reels audio. Growth adds Instagram product tagging and a social inbox covering Instagram and Facebook conversations plus TikTok comments. A creator selling a visual catalogue may care about that combination more than an open API.
AI is a reason to budget carefully. One credit generates one caption or three ideas. Starter's five credits are a small included caption allowance. Growth and Scale can add 100 credits a month for $3.75 at the annual rate, while Starter cannot purchase extra credits, users or sets. Someone drafting frequently inside the scheduler should include that upgrade rather than describing Later's AI as unlimited.
Analytics also has an exception behind the broad history labels. Pinterest analytics stays at up to three months across the tiers. Scale adds custom cross-profile views and shareable reports; buying Growth for longer Instagram history does not give every network the same history. Match the reporting deliverable to the exact feature row.
- Starter is inexpensive when a single social set matches the account map.
- Instagram planning, audio and publishing features suit visual content.
- Growth includes internal and external approvals with two users.
- Growth and Scale offer separately priced users, sets and AI credits.
- The current network list excludes X and Bluesky.
- Starter cannot hold multiple accounts on the same network or buy add-ons.
- Caption generation is credit-metered, with only five monthly credits on Starter.
- A public publishing API entitlement is not promised on the pricing page.
Later's verdict is specific: choose it for the visual workflow and eligible account shape. If you are replacing it because that shape no longer fits, the broader Later alternatives comparison covers additional specialist options.
3. Postiz: best for API-driven publishing and the open-source route
Postiz is a scheduler built to accept instructions from people, custom applications and AI agents, with a hosted service and an open-source self-hosting route. It is the strongest specialist here for a founder whose publishing starts in their own tools. Every hosted plan includes the public API, webhooks, MCP server and CLI, rather than reserving automation for an enterprise quote. The important limits are connected channels, collaborative access and the operational work you assume when self-hosting.

Best for: A founder with a CMS or custom app, an API-focused builder, or an operator prepared to maintain a self-hosted scheduler.
Standout: Public API and publication webhooks across the hosted tiers, plus a separately operated open-source edition.
Pricing: Standard $29/$23, Team $39/$31, Pro $49/$39, Ultimate $99/$79 per month on monthly/annual billing.
Free trial: Seven days on hosted plans; no permanent hosted free tier.
The live Postiz pricing page lists four hosted plans:
- Standard: Five channels, unlimited posts, AI Copilot and analytics; no team support.
- Team: Ten channels and unlimited team members.
- Pro: Thirty channels and unlimited team members.
- Ultimate: One hundred channels and unlimited team members.
Every tier includes the API, webhooks and agent connection surfaces. A CLI is a command-line interface that scripts can use; MCP is a common connection that lets an AI assistant act through the scheduler. You do not need to buy an AI agent to use the API. A conventional publishing app can use it directly.
The pricing FAQ names X, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Reddit, Discord, Bluesky and Mastodon, with other platforms also available. The six networks in this brief are explicitly covered. That makes Postiz a credible shortlist candidate for a founder whose chosen destinations include both X and Bluesky.
A five-account solo setup costs $29 monthly or $23 a month at the published annual rate. Add a sixth connected account and Standard no longer fits: Team is $39 monthly or $31 annually. Team also adds collaborators, but unlimited team members is not proof of a formal client approval system. The pricing table does not specify a permission-enforced or multi-stage client approval gate. Have the exact review sequence demonstrated if approval is the buying reason.
Postiz's content workflow includes channel-specific copy, repeated posts, RSS auto-posting and customer groups. For a founder releasing a new article, the useful pattern is to prepare a LinkedIn explanation and a shorter X or Threads version from the same source, then send each into the appropriate calendar destination. That removes re-entry of the same source material while preserving the editorial differences between networks.
AI generation has its own allowances. Standard includes three AI videos and 60 minutes of video clipping each month, but no included AI images. Team, Pro and Ultimate include 100, 300 and 500 AI images respectively; their video allowances are 10, 30 and 60, and clipping allowances are 120, 300 and 600 minutes. These are generation limits, rather than limits on publishing existing media. All tiers include AI text assistance. The vendor's product explanation also says analytics depends on what each network's insights interface exposes.
- API, webhooks, hosted MCP and CLI are included on every hosted plan.
- All six required networks appear in the pricing FAQ.
- Team adds ten channels and unlimited collaborators at a moderate published price.
- The open-source edition provides a route to operate the scheduler yourself.
- Standard has no team support and stops at five channels.
- Client approval enforcement is not specified in the pricing table.
- Self-hosting adds provider configuration, updates, backups and operational ownership.
- Hosted agent features ship first, so immediate cloud parity should not be assumed.
Self-host Postiz when control is worth operating the stack
Self-hosting means you run and maintain the application on infrastructure you control. Postiz describes its open-source edition as AGPL-3.0 and states that the software subscription costs nothing; infrastructure and operational work remain yours. The hosted product handles registered provider apps and maintenance for you. Postiz's own explanation draws that distinction explicitly.
The current self-hosting guide recommends Docker Compose, which brings up the app alongside PostgreSQL, Redis and Temporal. This is a small software stack to operate, rather than a free hosted account waiting behind an install button.
For example, if your infrastructure costs $10 a month and one maintenance hour is worth $50, your economic operating cost is $60 a month before setup time. Those are illustrative assumptions, not a hosting quote or measured maintenance requirement. Against the $23 hosted Standard rate, saving the subscription alone would not justify that example. Data control, custom integration or infrastructure you already operate could still justify it.
Choose the installation path and owner
Use the recommended Docker Compose guide for running the product. Assign someone to updates, backups and recovery before connecting business accounts. The person maintaining the scheduler is part of its cost.
Register the first account
Follow the setup guide and create the initial user, which becomes the organization owner. Confirm that you can access the application before adding providers.
Configure the required provider apps
Follow the provider guide for each network in your account map. Most need developer-app registration and keys; the requirements differ by network. Open-source scheduling software does not grant automatic approval from a social platform.
Put the deployment behind HTTPS
The guide expects HTTPS in production and documents a reverse proxy, the service that receives secure web requests and passes them to the app. Verify the public address and provider callbacks before evaluating publishing.
Verify a representative end-to-end post
Check creation, review, scheduling, publication status and recovery from a failed connection for the actual formats you need. Compare that operating burden with Postiz Cloud before choosing the self-hosted route for a client workflow.
Postiz offers an optional paid provider-app approval service. Its pricing FAQ explicitly says you do not have to buy it. Treat assistance as an optional service, rather than evidence that the open-source application requires a paid cloud subscription.
4. SocialBee: best budget fit for a small business with reusable content
SocialBee is a scheduler organized around content categories, recycling and expiry rules, and it is the best fit here for a small business that regularly reuses useful material. Bootstrap covers five profiles at $29 monthly, with unlimited AI content generation. The reason to choose it is a reusable calendar of offers, education and proof, rather than a small price difference from Buffer. Approvals, extra operators and report exports determine the next configuration.

Best for: A local-services business, consultant or small brand maintaining a repeatable content library.
Standout: Category schedules, recycling and expiry rules, with unlimited AI content generation.
Pricing: Bootstrap $29 monthly/$290 yearly; Accelerate $49/$490; Pro $99/$990. Agency tiers start at Pro50.
Free trial: 14 days with Pro access and no credit card; no lasting free plan.
The live SocialBee pricing page lists all six tiers:
- Bootstrap: Five profiles, one user in one workspace, ten content categories and up to three months of analytics. It costs $29 monthly or $290 a year, equivalent to $24.17 a month.
- Accelerate: Ten profiles, one user in one workspace, 50 categories, two years of analytics, advanced analytics and post approvals. It costs $49 monthly or $490 a year, equivalent to $40.83 a month.
- Pro: Twenty-five profiles, three users per workspace and five workspaces, with report exports and internal notes. It costs $99 monthly or $990 a year, equivalent to $82.50 a month.
- Pro50: Fifty profiles, five users per workspace and ten workspaces. It costs $179 monthly; the annual card displays $149.2 per month.
- Pro100: One hundred profiles, five users per workspace and 20 workspaces. It costs $329 monthly; the annual card displays $274.2 per month.
- Pro150: One hundred fifty profiles, five users per workspace and 30 workspaces. It costs $449 monthly; the annual card displays $374.2 per month.
The standard annual equivalents above come from the exact annual invoices. Agency figures are the annual monthly displays published on the cards. The page still contains a birthday promotion with an explicit June 10 deadline; it is excluded from this October comparison.
The pricing page's network list names Facebook, Instagram, Threads, LinkedIn, X, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube, Google Business Profiles and Bluesky. It also describes Universal Posting, which uses its mobile app to finish a post manually on a destination. Because some destination names appear in both areas, verify the exact account type and format instead of assuming every listed use is unattended direct publishing. A reminder to finish a post can be useful; it is a different commitment from an automatic post.
Consider a clinic owner maintaining educational posts, appointment reminders and seasonal offers across five profiles. Education can be recycled; a dated offer needs an expiry rule. SocialBee's category and expiry model fits that work better than repeatedly rebuilding the same queue. The payoff is fewer calendar decisions for content that remains useful, provided someone still reviews it when an offer or policy changes.
AI content generation is unlimited on every tier, including captions and images. This makes the included drafting allowance more usable for a frequent publisher than Later Starter's five-credit allowance. The choice should still follow the reusable-content workflow: unlimited generic captions do not make a news-led calendar evergreen.
Two upgrades deserve calculation. For a sixth account, Bootstrap can buy a five-profile add-on at $15 monthly or $150 a year. That makes the configuration $44 monthly or $440 annually, equivalent to $36.67 a month. Accelerate is $49 monthly or $490 yearly and also adds approvals and deeper analytics. Spending the difference makes sense when those features are recurring work, rather than merely because Accelerate is labelled popular.
For a second operator, the current page sells an extra user for $10 monthly or $100 a year on the standard tiers. An approvals workflow with two users can therefore use Accelerate plus that add-on at $59 monthly or $590 a year, equivalent to $49.17 a month. A second person does not automatically force the $99 Pro plan. Pro becomes relevant when the additional workspaces, profile capacity and reporting exports matter.
- Five-profile Bootstrap is affordable for a reusable small-business calendar.
- Captions and images are included in unlimited AI content generation.
- Recycling and expiry rules fit recurring education and dated offers.
- Standard plans disclose user, workspace and profile add-ons.
- Bootstrap omits approvals and advanced analytics.
- Report exports require Pro in the current comparison.
- Category setup adds little value when most posts become stale quickly.
- Network listings still require a direct-versus-notification check for your exact format.
5. Vista Social: best for a small agency with client approvals and reporting
Vista Social is a publishing, inbox and reporting platform with bundled profile and user capacity, and it is the strongest agency fit here when client handoffs are daily work. Professional includes single-stage approvals, while Advanced adds multi-stage workflows and custom reporting. The current price is a larger commitment than a solo calendar needs. X is also a separate $29 monthly integration charge, which belongs in the quote from the start.

Best for: A small agency coordinating client content, reviewers and recurring reports.
Standout: Approval workflows and reporting in a bundled agency product; white label on Scale.
Pricing: Professional $99 monthly/$950 yearly; Advanced $199/$1,910; Scale $449/$4,310; Enterprise custom. X adds $29/month.
Free trial: 14 days, no card; no permanent free scheduler plan shown.
The live Vista Social pricing page lists four tiers:
- Professional: Fifteen profiles and two users, unlimited scheduling, single-stage approvals, engagement tools and reports. It includes 1,000 AI credits a month.
- Advanced: Thirty profiles and three users, multi-stage approvals, advanced planning and custom reporting. It includes 2,000 AI credits a month.
- Scale: Seventy profiles and four users, white-label dashboard and reports, client profile-connection links and additional capacity options. It includes 3,500 AI credits a month.
- Enterprise: A custom configuration and quote, with enterprise support, security and integration features.
The annual invoices work out to $79.17, $159.17 and $359.17 a month. The rounded $80/$160/$360 card displays are useful shorthand, but the invoice is the stronger budgeting input. The active cards and comparison currently show two, three and four users; an older FAQ on the same page still gives different Professional and Advanced user counts. Use the current cards and confirm the seat bundle on the order.
The pricing table's network icons identify Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, X, Google Business, YouTube, TikTok, Reddit, Pinterest, Snapchat, Tumblr, Threads and Bluesky.
For the five-account baseline, Professional costs $99 monthly or the $950 annual invoice, even when only one person logs in. Put X into that account mix and the advertised $29 monthly integration raises the budget to $128 monthly, or $108.17 a month using the annual base-plan equivalent plus the monthly X fee. Confirm the add-on's coverage for the number of X profiles on your order, especially for an agency.
Professional becomes more sensible when its profile capacity is used. At 15 active profiles, its annual base cost is about $5.28 per profile per month. That configuration fits two operators, not three. A three-operator agency serving three clients with five profiles each would compare Advanced at $199 monthly or $159.17 annual-equivalent, before X, with its alternatives.
Buffer Team's graduated rates make a useful check on that decision: 15 channels cost $140 month to month, calculated as ten channels at $12 plus five at $4. Vista Social Advanced costs $59 more monthly for that scenario. The premium buys a different workflow, including multi-stage approvals and custom reporting, not simply more scheduled posts. If a client needs a second reviewer after the account manager, that is a concrete reason to pay it. If every client emails a final approval to one operator, it may not be.
White label means replacing the platform's visible branding with yours. Vista Social puts its white-label dashboard/report setup and client self-connection links on Scale. An agency should not present the $99 Professional rate as the price of a branded client portal. Scale can also buy additional profiles in blocks of ten and extra users, but the public page does not quote those extension rates.
Its AI caption allowance is credit-based. The page quotes credits for content and replies; it does not justify treating 1,000 credits as 1,000 finished captions regardless of the action. Ask how the actions in your workflow consume credits. The same discipline applies to reporting: profile support, inbox support and analytics depth can differ.
- Professional bundles profiles, two users, reporting and single-stage approvals.
- Advanced supports a three-user workflow with multi-stage approvals.
- All six requested networks are represented in the pricing table.
- Scale adds white label and client profile-connection links.
- A one-user, five-account buyer still pays for the larger Professional bundle.
- X is an additional $29/month line item.
- White label requires Scale, and extension rates are not publicly quoted.
- The pricing page and dedicated MCP FAQ disagree about the lowest MCP tier.
6. Hootsuite: best when social customer care and listening justify the seat cost
Hootsuite is a broader social operating platform covering publishing, messaging, listening and reporting, and it earns consideration when those jobs are staffed responsibilities. It is an expensive default for a creator who mainly needs a queue. Standard starts at $99 per user per month on annual billing, and content approvals first appear on Advanced at $399 per user. The seat count, rather than the number of posts in the calendar, becomes the main budget driver.

Best for: An organization that treats messages, listening, reporting and coordinated social care as daily operating work.
Standout: Publishing, inbox, listening and measurement in a broader product.
Pricing: Standard $99/user/month, Professional $199/user/month, Advanced $399/user/month, all annually billed; Enterprise custom.
Free trial: 14 days with no card; trial posting limits apply and bulk scheduling is unavailable.
The current Hootsuite plans page has four tiers:
- Standard: Ten social accounts, unlimited scheduled posts, AI post/image generation, a shared inbox, monitoring and analytics. Additional user seats can be purchased.
- Professional: Unlimited accounts, more inbox/workflow automation, custom reports and deeper listening features.
- Advanced: Content approvals, coordinated team and customer-care workflows, message assignments and team-performance measurement.
- Enterprise: A custom quote for broader governance, security, compliance, listening and measurement requirements.
These are annual-billing monthly rates. The page offers monthly billing but does not quote the exact month-to-month rates in the live scrape. The entry plan is now called Standard; a comparison built around an old Professional starter tier would describe a different offer.
The live Standard plan page names Facebook, TikTok, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads, Bluesky and Pinterest as connectable accounts. All six networks requested here are present. The same page names particular networks for Standard analytics, so broad publishing support should not be read as identical reports for every destination.
For a one-user business with five accounts, Standard costs $1,188 for a year, equivalent to $19.80 per active account per month. A busy service business may value the inbox and listening enough to justify that. A solo founder who schedules an article and checks basic post performance has cheaper routes to the same publishing task.
Three Standard users cost $297 per month at the annual rate. However, that is not the configuration for a team that needs Hootsuite content approvals. Three Advanced users cost $1,197 a month billed yearly, or $14,364 a year. Comparing a cheap scheduling tier with someone else's approval tier would conceal that difference.
For context, five-channel Buffer Team is $50 a month annually with unlimited collaborators and approvals. The difference from three-seat Hootsuite Advanced is $1,147 a month, or $13,764 a year. The products have different customer-care and governance scope, so this is a budget decision rather than proof that their features are interchangeable. Hootsuite needs to replace work that a basic scheduler would leave elsewhere.
Wisdom, the AI capability named in the current plans, helps draft, recommend and analyze. Caption generation alone is a weak reason to accept the higher bill when the lower-cost products include writing assistance. Inbox routing, listening, governance or coordinated social care are stronger reasons because they address different operating work.
The trial also differs from the paid configuration. The pricing footnote gives daily posting limits of 10-20 posts per organization depending on plan and excludes bulk scheduling during trial. Evaluate the capabilities the trial actually allows, and request a demonstration of the rest before committing.
- The live Standard plan lists all six requested networks.
- Standard combines scheduling with inbox, analytics and listening features.
- Professional removes the ten-account limit and adds automation.
- Advanced and Enterprise provide broader coordinated-care and governance options.
- The annual quoted rate is per user, so collaborators compound the bill.
- Content approvals start at Advanced, well above Standard.
- The trial limits posting and does not allow bulk scheduling.
- Self-serve pricing does not promise a custom publishing API entitlement.
Choose by Team Size and Network Mix
Choose the lowest-cost configuration that covers the exact destinations and handoffs. Network eligibility comes first, the account arrangement second, approval requirements third, and price last. A cheaper plan that leaves a required destination or reviewer outside the system is an incomplete purchase.

For a solo creator with three accounts, start with Buffer Free if its queue and Insights cover the work. Paying becomes relevant when the fourth account, deeper reporting or collaboration arrives. Free is a useful operating option within those limits.
For an Instagram-first creator with five different eligible networks, choose Later Starter when its visual workflow matters and X/Bluesky are unnecessary. Its $18.75 annual monthly price beats Buffer's $25 five-account rate. The decision flips when another Instagram account, required X access or required Bluesky access enters the account map.
For a local business maintaining a reusable content library, choose SocialBee Bootstrap. If another person must approve content, price Accelerate plus a user before jumping to Pro. Recycling an outdated offer is still a content error; set expiry and ownership alongside the recurring category schedule.
For a founder whose posts originate in a CMS or custom app, shortlist Postiz Cloud and Buffer. Choose Postiz when REST integration, publication webhooks and operating your own edition are important. Choose Buffer when its current API and documented approval permissions cover the publishing job. The need for reliable programmatic analytics makes Buffer's current API a weaker fit.
For an agency with three operators, three clients and 15 accounts, compare Vista Social Advanced's $199 monthly base with Buffer Team's $140 graduated monthly cost. Multi-stage approvals and custom reports can justify Vista Social's premium. Requiring a branded dashboard changes the Vista Social tier to Scale; requiring X adds another line item.
For a social-care operation, shortlist Hootsuite when messages, listening and coordination are daily work. Calculate the required users and approval tier together. A Standard quote is not an Advanced approval budget.
The rule that flips the choice is simple: which required job is missing from the cheapest eligible plan? If none is missing, there is little reason to pay for an agency or enterprise bundle. If the missing job is a client handoff you repeat every week, the higher tier may be the economical choice.
The API Route for Posting From Your Own Tools
Use a scheduler's API when you want your own content system to feed the calendar while the scheduler handles network connections. An API is the interface one application uses to instruct another. It reduces repeated entry; it does not make every network accept the same media, format or posting permission.
For a founder producing 12 source posts in a week across five networks, there are 60 destination posts. That is an illustrative workload, not a product test. The connected-account count is still five. API requests, destination posts and the vendor's generation credits are separate units, and the bill or quota can be based on any of them.
Buffer: current API access, with an analytics limit
Buffer's current GraphQL API is available on all plans, including Free. The live pricing page gives one API key and 3,000 requests per 30 days on Free, three keys and 7,500 on Essentials, and five keys and 15,000 on Team. Shorter rate windows also apply; do not treat the monthly total as permission to send every request in one burst.
An organization owner creates a key in Buffer's API settings. Its current API documentation supports creating and scheduling posts, retrieving account/channel and scheduled/sent-post information, and managing ideas. It also states that API-created posts respect Requires Approval permissions and wait as drafts when those permissions apply.
The reporting wall is explicit: full analytics is not reliably available through the API. Experimental personal-use post metrics are not recommended for production reporting, and reading or replying to comments is not supported through the API. Choose Buffer for a publishing integration only when that limitation does not break your own reporting product.
Postiz: REST, publication webhooks and provider-specific settings
Postiz's public API uses REST requests, a conventional way for one app to send instructions to another. API keys go in the Authorization header, and OAuth is documented for apps acting on behalf of other Postiz users. Use the current public API guide, rather than copying a request shape from another scheduler.
The public API guide gives 100 create-post requests per hour on cloud and a 90-request default for self-hosted instances, adjustable by the self-hoster. The limit applies to the create-post endpoint. A request can schedule multiple posts, so requests are not the same as destination-post count. Each provider also has its own settings, including the media and privacy choices a generic caption cannot supply.
The pricing page includes webhooks, which send an event to your system when publication occurs. That is valuable when a CMS needs to record which destinations succeeded. The integration should retain a status per destination, rather than writing “distributed” as soon as an API accepts a scheduled post.
Vista Social: confirm the MCP tier before building around it
Vista Social's MCP page describes scheduling, analytics, inbox and reporting tools with access governed by the user's role. It documents the connection link under Settings, Account Settings, Integrations. This is an AI-client connection surface; it should not be treated as proof of unrestricted custom REST access.
There is a live entitlement conflict: the pricing cards and table include MCP on Professional, while the dedicated MCP FAQ says Advanced and higher. Confirm the lowest usable tier for your intended connection before building a Professional-priced workflow around it. An agency already needing Advanced has less uncertainty about that boundary.
Later's pricing page does not promise a public publishing API. SocialBee lists automation integrations, including Zapier, Pabbly and Make, but that is not the same as a documented custom publishing API entitlement. Hootsuite's self-serve pricing likewise does not provide enough detail to budget a custom publishing API from a Standard quote. Verify the required interface, access and permitted use before assuming a scheduler can sit behind your own product.
Keep approval and publication success as separate stages
A useful architecture is source content, draft, approval, publication, receipt. Approval records that a person authorized the content. A receipt records that a specific destination published it. Neither should be inferred from the other.

Keep the source ID, destination account, scheduled time and returned post identifier together. For a failed connection, record the failure and check the destination before retrying, so a delayed response does not become a duplicate post. This is a recommended integration design, not a claim that every scheduler implements an identical approval or receipt mechanism.
Free Social Media Management Tools: SaaS Versus Self-Hosting
Free cloud access and free software solve different budget problems. Buffer Free provides a vendor-operated account within a three-channel cap. Postiz's open-source route removes the software subscription while leaving infrastructure and operation with you.
Best Free Social Media Management Tools for a Solo Creator
Buffer is the strongest free starting point among these six when one owner manages no more than three accounts and can work within ten queued posts per channel. Its included AI Assistant and 30-day Insights make that a usable configuration. It is not a free five-account plan.
Postiz self-hosted is the other route when ownership is the deciding requirement and someone will maintain the deployment. It is not a free hosted alternative for a creator who wants every connection and update handled for them.
Social Media Automation Tools Free of Subscription Fees
Buffer includes API access on Free, but its free account and request limits still apply. Self-hosted Postiz can be connected to your own tools, but server resources, provider configuration and maintenance remain part of the operating cost. Budget the entire chain, including any separate automation service you choose to run.
Social Media Scheduling Tools Free of Long Commitments
The lasting free choices above differ from a trial. Later, SocialBee, Vista Social and Hootsuite advertise 14-day trials; Postiz Cloud advertises seven days. SocialBee says posting stops when its trial ends. Use a trial to verify your destinations and review workflow, then choose monthly billing if the account map is still changing. An annual-equivalent price is paid in an annual commitment.
Top Social Media Management Tools: How These Were Picked
These six cover distinct buying situations with current vendor pages that support a configuration calculation. The comparison evaluates publishing software for a solo creator, a small agency or a founder; it does not claim a universal winner for a staffed enterprise department.
The criteria are:
- Network eligibility: Instagram, LinkedIn, X, TikTok, Threads and Bluesky, including account type and direct versus notification publishing.
- Price for the actual account map: One user and five accounts, with annual billing and monthly billing kept distinct.
- The next upgrade: A sixth profile, a second operator, formal approvals or branded client access.
- AI allowance: Included captions, metered credits and generation limits, rather than a yes/no marketing badge.
- Measurement: Required metrics and exports for the actual destinations, including what an API exposes.
- Operational responsibility: Vendor-hosted SaaS versus Postiz self-hosting, plus the interface your own app needs.
Verification covered live pricing and relevant official documentation on 2 October 2026. Cost-per-account figures, invoice equivalents and scenario comparisons were computed from those inputs. Products were not subscribed to or exercised as a hands-on test, and no claimed time saving is a measured result from this run.
The narrower field is deliberate: each product gets its current tiers, named wall, concrete buyer scenario and next-step cost. Adding another product without a distinct decision would make the choice less clear. For the wider generation and AI-management question, the separate AI social media management comparison covers that broader scope.
The Ones to Avoid
Avoid the configuration that fails your work, even when the product is capable.
Avoid Hootsuite for a calendar-only solo business. Standard's $99 annual-billing monthly seat cost buys broader operating scope. Approvals at $399 per user make it particularly difficult to justify for a small publishing handoff.
Avoid Later when X or Bluesky is mandatory. Neither appears in its current supported social-set list. Also avoid buying Starter on the assumption that eight slots can cover several Instagram clients. The same-network arrangement, rather than the total profile count, breaks that purchase.
Avoid Postiz self-hosting without an owner for maintenance. A founder's time is part of the publishing budget. A deployment nobody updates or troubleshoots is a liability for a client calendar, even if the software fee is zero.
Avoid Vista Social Professional when one person will use only a small fraction of the bundle. Its value improves as the included profiles, second user, inbox and reports are used. White-label promises require a different tier, and X requires a separate charge.
Avoid judging approval products from their entry price. Buffer Essentials, Later Starter, SocialBee Bootstrap and Hootsuite Standard are not their formal approval configurations. Postiz's collaborator count is not a verified formal client approval gate. Price the complete handoff before comparing these offers.
The useful Monday move is to write the account map and the approval path, shortlist the two configurations that fit, and evaluate the exact post format and report you deliver. Move the calendar after those checks pass.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the 5-3-2 rule for social media posts?
It is a content-mix guideline: out of ten posts, share five curated items from others, three original pieces and two personal or humanizing posts. Hootsuite's posting-schedule guide describes that mix. Adjust it to the account's purpose; it is not a requirement for choosing a scheduler.
What is the best scheduling app for small businesses?
Buffer is the default here for a flexible calendar across mixed networks. SocialBee is a better fit for a reusable category-based library, while Later fits an Instagram-first account mix that excludes X and Bluesky. Five-account Buffer Essentials costs $25 a month annually or $30 monthly as verified on 2 October 2026.
What is the best social media manager for small businesses?
For software, choose by the work: Buffer for publishing, SocialBee for reusable content, Later for an eligible visual workflow, Vista Social for client approvals/reporting, and Postiz for API-driven posting or self-hosting. If you mean a person to hire, scheduling software does not replace strategy, creative judgment or customer replies.
What is the best app for scheduling social media posts?
Buffer is the best general starting point for this reader. Later, Postiz, SocialBee and Vista Social win specific account or workflow needs. Hootsuite is worth considering when messaging, listening and coordinated social care justify its higher per-user cost.
What are the top 5 social media schedulers?
For the solo-creator and small-agency situations covered here, the first five are Buffer, Later, Postiz, SocialBee and Vista Social. Hootsuite is included as a sixth specialist for broader social-care needs. The right order changes with required networks, repeated accounts on the same network and reviewer access.
Is Hootsuite no longer free?
The current pricing page lists paid Standard, Professional, Advanced and custom Enterprise plans, with no permanent free tier. It offers a 14-day no-card trial. The lowest quoted price is Standard at $99 per user per month on annual billing.
Is there anything better than Hootsuite?
For a small publishing calendar, Buffer or SocialBee can cover the job at a lower cost. Later fits eligible visual workflows; Vista Social fits client approvals; Postiz fits custom publishing tools. Hootsuite remains a contender when the required job includes broader listening, messaging and governance.
What are the downsides of using Hootsuite?
The quoted rate is annual-billed and per user, approvals require Advanced, and the trial excludes bulk scheduling and applies daily posting limits. A small business can therefore pay for much more operating scope than its calendar needs.
How much does Hootsuite cost monthly?
As verified on 2 October 2026, the public page quotes Standard at $99, Professional at $199 and Advanced at $399 per user per month, all on annual billing; Enterprise is custom. Monthly billing is available, but its exact cancel-anytime rates are not quoted in the live pricing scrape used here. Do not treat the annual monthly equivalent as the month-to-month bill.
- Last Updated
- Oct 2, 2026
- Category
- Growth







